Sunday, September 5, 2010

Mitchell's Fall 2010 TV Preview

It’s that time again, Labor Day weekend and the imminent start of the Fall TV season. Once again I’ve documented my Fall TV schedule including new shows I’ll be trying and old shows I’ll be returning to. This is my fourth year doing this so many of you know the drill. For those new to my write-up, know that while I’m a fan of TV my taste will not be your taste. So take the recommendations for what they are, one man’s opinions and use the comments section to chime in with your own thoughts.

Below is my viewing schedule for the fall. The premiere dates are in parenthesis next to the title and new shows that I'll be sampling are in bold. You can click on the link for a spreadsheet version that can be edited, printed and downloaded (gotta love Google docs) or click on the image for a larger version of the picture.






































On my schedule are 22 returning and 11 new shows. Luckily I have 2 DVRs to help me get through everything! Note that I don’t subscribe to any premium cable channels (HBO, etc.) so you won’t see True Blood on my list. And yes, it’s true that I don’t watch Mad Men but don’t worry, I have it on my bucket list to watch later in life (along with Buffy, The Wire and others, but that’s another blog post). And finally, before I get to the detail, I should tell you I’m getting a little tired of detectives and doctors. So while I think Tom Selleck is great, his new show and others didn’t make the list.


So what did make the list? The show I’m most excited about is Nikita – a bit surprising since there have been two movies and a TV show already based on the material. However, the buzz is this is a fun new take and the previews look great. I’m also really excited about Hawaii 5-0. I grew up watching the original so I was already inclined to like it, then when they added Daniel Dae Kim (of LOST fame) that sealed the deal.

There are several new sitcoms on my list this year. Not sure I’ll like them all, I’m particularly on the fence about Raising Hope and Running Wilde, but we’ll see how it goes. Mike & Molly, a more traditional sitcom, is actually the one I’m most excited about. It just looks sweet and funny – and who can’t use a little more sweet and funny in their lives.


The Event is probably one of the biggest question marks of the year. After last year’s disappointing Flash Forward, people are understandably gun-shy about trying another deep mythology show in the LOST tradition. That said, the people behind the show promise answers and a fast pace, including that we will know what the “Event” is by the end of the first show. So, it’s on the list but consider yourselves warned.


The lack of buzz for Undercovers, the new JJ Abram’s show, is a bit worrisome; his shows are usually fast out of the gate. But given his track record (Alias, LOST, etc) I can’t help but give it a try. To finish out the list of new shows, there’s another sitcom – Better With You. There is also a live action version of The Incredibles: No Ordinary Family. That's not really how the people behind the show want you to think of it, but how else should we describe a family of four each with different superpowers. Also on my list are Lone Star (a con man with two families) and Body of Proof (Dana Delaney as a medical examiner).


While there are many other shows you might want to try, there are also a few you need to stay far away from. Top of that list is $#*! My Dad Says, a sitcom based on a Twitter feed staring William Shatner – enough said. Also to be avoided is Outsourced – although I thoroughly enjoyed the movie the show looks completely offensive. And finally, while it’s true, I watch Gossip Girl, Vampire Diaries and Life Unexpected – I’m drawing the line at Hellcats and hope that you do as well.


For the most part I’ll let the returning show list speak for itself. However, if you've not yet tried Castle or The Mentalist I encourage you to do so. No worries about catching up with either of them, most episodes are free standing stories – they are both just plain fun.


In case you're curious, I did find things to watch during the summer. You’ll note most of these are cable shows. The cable networks continue to put on great new programming during the summer when they don't have to compete with the broadcast networks. Most of these will be back and I encourage you to check them out:
  • Covert Affairs
  • Eureka
  • Human Being
  • Leverage
  • My Boys
  • My Life on the D List
  • Justified
  • Rescue Me
  • Rizzoli and Isles
  • Royal Pains
  • Warehouse 13
  • White Collar
And finally, for more information about the shows I've discussed or the ones I've ignored take a look at these two sites:
Happy Viewing!

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Build an Islamic Cultural Center and Mosque two blocks from Ground Zero?

On September 11, 2001 I was sitting looking out my 28th floor office window at the World Trade Center when I saw a smoke start to rise from one of the towers, the first plane had just hit.  For the next 102 minutes I stood there with my coworkers watching the towers burn and ultimately disappear forever from the NY skyline.  I lost friends and colleagues that day – my employer at the time had offices at One World Trade Center and lost a total of 355 employees.

Over the past several weeks there has been an ugly debate about the opening of a cultural center and mosque in lower Manhattan.  I share this brief account of my experience that day not because I think I have a greater right to an opinion than anyone else, but because I want you to know some of the experiences that forged my opinion on this issue. 

In the days after the attacks I resumed my commute – I would take a bus into the Port Authority Terminal and walk across town through Times Square.  All around me were police and National Guard Troops, many in body armor carrying automatic weapons.  I was scared but glad they were there.

As the days passed, out of the black cloud of smoke and debris, I started to see the glimmer of a silver lining.  While nothing was worth the price paid that day, it was encouraging to see the world rally around us.  People of all faiths and nationalities agreed that the actions of those few madmen were horrific.  It seemed there was a real opportunity to forge a world of increased understanding, tolerance and cooperation out of the ashes 9/11.

Fast forward almost nine years – my optimism is gone, an opportunity was squandered.  Today an ugly debate rages on whether an Islamic Mosque and Community Center should be built near ground zero.  We are being divided as a nation by hate-filled people stirring up debate and emotions for their own political gain.
I can give logical arguments for why I am in favor of the proposed construction:
  • there is already a Mosque four blocks away from ground zero
  • in the two blocks between ground zero and the proposed site there are strip clubs and fast food joints, hardly hallowed ground
  • there are Islamic services every Friday IN the Pentagon at an interfaith chapel, another location attached that day
  • the people most vocal about their opposition seem to be using the issue for their own gains


I could go on and on, but the bottom line is these are not the reasons I am in favor of the construction.  Instead I want to quote the current Mayor of NY, Michael Bloomberg who said recently:
"We would undercut the values and principles that so many heroes died protecting,"
Those stirring up this debate have forgotten what we stand for as a nation.  The freedom of religion and speech are at the heart of what we are.  Yes, there are those who oppose us and will try to exploit our ideals to their own ends.  However, if we stoop to the level of hate filled speech they will have won without hijacking a plane, exploding a bomb or firing a gun.  They will have won my making us guilty of the hate and intolerance we accuse them of, they will have won by making us less than we can be as a nation.  

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Grilled flank steak

Its almost summer!  (Not really, but we can pretend) so its time to invite people over to stand around the grill and watch you cook.  One of my favorite recipes is a simple marinated flank steak.  Use the comments to let me know if you give it a try.



Grilled Flank Steak (nothing surprising, just a set of proportions that works well)

Marinade proportions are for two 1 1/2 lb flank steaks

1 cup balsamic vinegar (I keep a bottle of the cheap stuff for this)
1/2 cup oil (any neutral vegetable oil is good, don't waste olive oil)
1/4 cups soy sauce (I use this instead of adding salt, more flavor)
1/4 cup sugar
5 medium shallots - diced fine

That's it, combine ingredients and cover  steak (i usually use a zip lock bag so the whole thing stays covered).  Do about 6 -8 hours in advance.  I don't recomend doing overnight cause the steak can get too mushy.  About 1/2 hour before grilling, remove from marinade and let drip dry on a rack.  If you're really motivated, cook the marinade reducing by at least half to use as a glaze when serving.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

January 10, 2010 – Really, how did that happen…

Weren't we just trying to figure out what to call the last decade and here we are in the teens.  On top of that, it’s already the second week in January...   oh well, time marches on.  On the positive side, after a holiday period filled with Charlie Brown specials and repeats, many of our favorite shows are back this week with new episodes.

I won’t bore you reviewing the whole schedule, but I do want to call your attention to some highlights:
Tonight Chuck premiers with a 2 hour episode before returning tomorrow to its regular Monday timeslot.  When we last left our hero he had just downloaded the Intersect 2.0 and was on the verge of cancellation.  When we catch up to him tonight, he’ll be dealing with the realities of the new intersect while the show’s producers can be confident that the mess that is NBC need them more than ever.   (While I’ve never been a big Leno fan, I wouldn’t wish the mess NBC is putting him through on anyone.  OK, maybe on some people, but not on him.)

Also tonight, the Simpsons celebrate their 20th anniversary.  Not that I really care but some of you might.

For the past few years Monday nights have been why I have two DVRs.  They’re both back in action tomorrow with most shows having new episodes.  Of note is that Fringe is on with two new episodes this week, one on Monday and then back to its regular time on Thursday. 

For those who enjoyed Leverage last year, its back Wednesday night on TNT – not Shakespeare but a fun caper show with likeable characters – plus they only work for good guys.  Who can’t use a little Robyn Hood now and then!

Next Sunday (1/17) brings us the return of 24 – Jacks new worst day ever starts with 2 hours Sunday and 2 hours on Monday.  He’s in NY this time for a change of scenery.  I thought last year was the best in several seasons and so I'm looking forward to the new day.  

Also next Sunday the Golden Glove awards.  One of the silliest award shows around (the only people who vote are foreign critics working in the US, many of them not even full time writers).  This year Ricky Gervais is hosting, so if you are not a 24 fan, give it a look (I’ll be zipping through it the next morning looking for the funny parts).

Also next week a new show on the CW network – Life Unexpected – Juno meets Gilmore Girls.  Its getting good advance press and looks worth sampling .

Moving out a bit, a date many of you already have memorized:  February 2 brings the beginning of the end:  The last season of LOST starts with a one hour clip show followed by a two hour episode.  In this final season we’ll get answers to our questions but I’m sure it won’t be a smooth ride.

And finally, for those of you waiting for Glee, V, Flash Forward and/or Gossip Girl, I’m sorry to report that you have to be patient.  They won’t be back until March or later (April in Glee’s case).

Keep watching and let me know in the comments what you’re looking forward to and what you think once they air.